Consequences of the corona (COVID-19) crisis for Bonsai Focus shipments

Dear Subscribers,

We are receiving many messages from subscribers in several countries asking us when the May/June issue will be delivered. We are very sorry to say that we honestly do not know. We understand that the online version we sent you at the beginning of May does not replace the printed version, but this is an exceptional situation where we fully depend on the national postal services to do their job.

This issue of Bonsai Focus was sent out to all countries on schedule. However, many counties worldwide have been closed for several weeks due to the Corona Crisis. Even now, there are countries that are still shut down, such as New Zealand and some parts of Australia. Deliveries to some countries are therefore behind by up to 6 weeks, while national and local postal services have enormous backlogs that have caused even further delay.

Most of our magazines are sent by airmail, so it didn’t help that international air traffic virtually came to an abrupt stop. The number of flights decreased dramatically and we didn’t get priority on the flights that did take off.

It is almost impossible for us to get accurate updates on international post and deliveries because of the long response times, or no response at all. Maybe it will help if you can personally check with your national or local postal service and ask what their backlog is.

We much appreciate your understanding over this and ask you to please be patient. We are sure that, in the end everyone will receive their issue, but it will surely take several extra weeks before we can get back to normal again.

The situation is changing every day for most destination countries around the world. Check the list below for delays to your destination.


July 9th 2020

Slight delays   Heavy delays   No delivery possible
Åland Islands   American Samoa   Afghanistan
Albania   Anguilla   Algeria
Andorra   Antigua and Barbuda   Angola
Austria   Aruba   Antarctica
Belarus   Australia   Armenia
Belgium   Bahamas (the)   Azerbaijan
Bosnia and Herzegovina   Barbados   Bahrain
Bulgaria   Belize   Bangladesh
Croatia   Bermuda   Benin
Cyprus   Canada   Bhutan
Czech Republic (the)   Cayman Islands (the)   Bolivia, Plurinational State of
Denmark   Cook Islands (the)   Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
Estonia   Costa Rica   Botswana
Faroe Islands (the)   Cuba   Bouvet Island
Finland   Dominica   British Indian Ocean Territory (the)
France   Dominican Republic (the)   Brunei Darussalam
Georgia   El Salvador   Burkina Faso
Germany   Fiji   Burundi
Gibraltar   French Polynesia   Cabo Verde
Greece   Greenland   Cambodia
Guernsey   Grenada   Cameroon
Holy See (the) [Vatican City State]   Guadeloupe   Central African Republic (the)
Hungary   Guam   Chad
Iceland   Guatemala   Chile
Ireland   Haiti   Christmas Island
Isle of Man   Honduras   Cocos (Keeling) Islands (the)
Italy   Jamaica   Colombia
Jersey   Kiribati   Comoros
Latvia   Marshall Islands (the)   Congo
Liechtenstein   Martinique   Congo (the Democratic Republic of the)
Lithuania   Mexico   Côte d'Ivoire
Luxembourg   Micronesia (the Federated States of)    
Macedonia (the former Yugoslav Republic of)   Montserrat   Djibouti
Moldova (the Republic of)   Nauru   Ecuador
Monaco   New Caledonia   Egypt
Montenegro   New Zealand   Equatorial Guinea
Netherlands (the)   Nicaragua   Eritrea
Nigeria   Niue   Ethiopia
Norway   Norfolk Island   Falkland Islands (the) [Malvinas]
Poland   Northern Mariana Islands (the)   French Guiana
Portugal   Palau   French Southern Territories (the)
Romania   Panama   Gabon
San Marino   Papua New Guinea   Gambia (The)
Serbia   Pitcairn   Ghana
Slovakia   Puerto Rico   Guinea
Slovenia   Saint Barthélemy   Guinea-Bissau
Spain   Saint Kitts and Nevis   Guyana
Svalbard and Jan Mayen   Saint Lucia   Heard Island and McDonald Islands
Sweden   Saint Martin (French part)   Hong Kong
Switzerland   Saint Pierre and Miquelon   Indonesia
Turkey   Saint Vincent and the Grenadines   Iran (the Islamic Republic of)
Ukraine   Samoa   Iraq
United Kingdom (the)   Solomon Islands (the)   Jordan
    Tokelau   Kazakhstan
    Tonga   Kenya
    Trinidad and Tobago   Korea (the Democratic People's Republic of)
    Turks and Caicos Islands (the)   Kuwait
    Tuvalu   Kyrgyzstan
    United States (the)   Lao People's Democratic Republic (the)
    United States Minor Outlying Islands (the)   Lesotho
    Vanuatu   Liberia
    Virgin Islands (British)   Libya
    Virgin Islands (U.S.)   Malta
    Wallis and Futuna   Macao
    Opened June 1st 2020:   Malawi
    Argentina   Maldives
    Bangladesh   Mali
    Brazil   Mauritania
    China   Mauritius
    Egypt   Mayotte
    India   Mongolia
    Israel   Morocco
    Japan   Mozambique
    Korea (the Republic of)   Myanmar
    Lebanon   Namibia
    Malaysia   Nepal
    Pakistan   Niger (the)
    Philippines (the)   Oman
    Qatar   Palestine, State of
    Saudi Arabia   Paraguay
    Singapore   Peru
    Thailand   Qatar
    Uruguay   Réunion
    Viet Nam   Russian Federation (the)
    Opened June 25th:   Rwanda
     South Africa   Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
     Suriname   Sao Tome and Principe
     Curaçao   Saudi Arabia
        Sierra Leone
        Sint Maarten (Dutch part)
        South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
        South Sudan 
        Sri Lanka
        Sudan (the)
        Syrian Arab Republic (the)
        Taiwan (Province of China)
        Tanzania, United Republic of
        United Arab Emirates (the)
        Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of 
        Western Sahara*